Up close Q&A: Kevin Aronis

Jenna Burkman, Contributing Writer

Kevin Aronis

Kevin Aronis is a natural athlete who has been dribbling a basketball as long as he can remember.
During two seasons playing shooting guard at Santa Rosa Junior College, Aronis has displayed dominance on the court and now has multiple offers to transfer to division-I and II universities.
Former high school teammate and best friend, Chris Bostock, describes Aronis as a hard worker, a leader and an overall great teammate.
“Kevin really blossomed as a player when we were going into our junior year in high school. He has always managed to keep a level head. Basketball is his life, and you can tell he really enjoys playing. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for him,” Bostock said.
Aronis graduated from Analy High School in 2010 and is finishing his second year playing at the SRJC. Aronis averaged 13 points per game and finished second in the state in 3-pointers, with 99. He was also named first team Big 8 All-Conference.
Aronis talked about life, his love for the game and his plans after SRJC.
Q: When did you start playing basketball, and how did you get into it?
A: I started playing basketball when I was in third grade for an organization called CYO. Ultimately, my family got me into the sport. My dad was the coach and the athletic director for the program. Also, my brother had played before me, so I grew up watching him play first.
Q: How has basketball shaped your life today?
A: Basketball has taught me a lot of things about myself over the years. I’ve learned that hard work really does pay off. It’s taught me responsibility, leadership and perseverance. Also, since I have always been a part of a team, I learned how to work well with others.
Q: Were there different levels that you had to move up through over the years?
A: Yes. In high school I played as a freshman on the freshman team. I was on the JV team as a sophomore, and I played on the varsity team my junior and senior years. I had to work my way up just like everyone else.
Q: I understand you played baseball in high school as well, and I have heard that you were quite good. How were you able to choose between two different sports?
A: I played both basketball and baseball at Analy all four years. I had a very good basketball coach in high school compared to my baseball coach, and over the years I ended up learning a lot more about basketball, so I naturally got better. Obviously, I ended up choosing basketball as my main sport, but originally, I was better at baseball.
Q: Who has been your favorite coach?
A: Out of all the coaches I have ever had, my favorite coach would have to be Brett Page. He was my coach in high school from sophomore year to senior year. He taught me so many things about the game that I never knew and I have become a better basketball player because of him.
Q: What do you like and dislikes about basketball?
A: I am such a competitive person and I love going out and competing in games. I also like being part of a team. I dislike practice when we have to run, and I cannot stand losing due to the fact that I am so competitive. Also, my dad has always pushed me, so I feel like there is a lot of pressure for me to live up to his expectations.
Q: Have you ever had to deal with a serious injury?
A: Yes. I broke my shooting wrist my senior year in high school when I was dunking on someone. I was out for about three weeks, but after I came back I continued to play with a fractured wrist. I had to wrap it up all the time, and for the rest of my senior year, I had to shoot completely different.
Q: What was the greatest obstacle you’ve had to overcome?
A: I would say the greatest obstacle I have had to overcome was when I broke my wrist. It sucks when you have to sit out and watch on the sidelines. Also, it was hard because I had to really work and practice on my shot after this happened.
Q: How would your life be different if you had not participated in basketball?
A: If I wasn’t playing basketball I would probably being playing baseball here at SRJC. But if I didn’t play any sports then I would have a job and work a lot.
Q: Have you had any role models in your life?
A: My mom has been my role model. When she was a little girl, she was playing on the monkey bars upside down and she fell on her head. She really messed up her spine. After this accident, she started getting headaches as a little girl. Ever since then, she has had migraines daily, and she has to take tons of medication. I look up to her because she has to deal with an incredible amount of pain everyday, and she is a very strong person because of this.
Q: Overall, as far as basketball goes, what do you find most challenging?
A: I’d say the most challenging thing is trying to stay confident in yourself. I feel like I have always had an extreme amount of pressure on me from both my coaches and family because they expect so much from me.
Q: What is your greatest achievement in your sport?
A: I would definitely have to say my greatest achievement and memory was during my junior year. My team at Analy won the North Coast Section Championship. What made it special was the fact that we were the underdogs, and nobody thought we were going to win.
Q: How do you manage to balance school and basketball in college?
A: Actually it’s not too bad. I do my homework earlier in the day because after I get home from practice, I am way too tired. So I have to manage my time well. It is mandatory that I take care of my business so that I am eligible to play.
Q: Are you going to continue to play basketball after SRJC? Any offers?
A: Yes. I have offers to both Division I and II schools. However my top choices would be New Mexico State, Idaho State and Sacramento State.
Q: What do you plan on doing after your basketball career?
A: After my basketball career I would want to go back to school and get my degree so that I could be a basketball coach. Because basketball has always been a huge part of my life, I want to pass on my knowledge and experience to others.